Hermanus scores in Impala Trophy
Hermanus scores in Impala Trophy

Hermanus scores in Impala Trophy

Four of the top ten photographers in the Western Cape that participated in the Impala Trophy were from the Hermanus Photographic Society (HPS). Leading the regional ranks was HPS treasurer, Phil Sturgess. The other three individuals are Carina de Klerk, Elizma Fourie and Charles Naudé. Phil ended in 16th position in South Africa, followed by Karyn Parisi from Tygerberg in 17th position. Overall 544 photographers participated in this annual competition run by the Photographic Society of South Africa (PSSA).

On club level HPS came third in the Western Cape and 13th in the PSSA national competition that ran from 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2021. Tygerberg was the winning club in Western Cape followed by Cape Town.

The highest award is the coveted Impala Trophy, which goes to the winner of each of three categories – digitally projected images (by far the biggest), prints and audio-visuals. There are various other smaller awards. The awards will be handed over at the PSSA National Congress at end September 2021.

The next Impala Trophy (2021-2022) season started recently. The Witzenberg and Tygerberg salons already closed. Sandton’s salon’s closing date for entries is 14 August with Krugersdorp a week later on 21 August.

Impala Trophy individual rankings

EntrantClubPoints Western
Phil SturgessHermanus 262116
Karyn ParisiFish Hoek248217
Dante ParisiFish Hoek228322
Christo Giliomee Tafelberg184432
Bennie VivierTygerberg141554
Carina de KlerkHermanus139656
Elizma FourieHermanus128761
Kim StevensCape Town127862
Dieter ButowCape Town114969
Charles NaudéHermanus981081
Impala Trophy Competition that ended June 2021

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *